• Logo - EI
  • Logo - AHLEI 60 Years
    • Recertification/Maintenance Programs

      Recertification begins the day a candidate earns his or her certification, and designees hold their certification for only five years. During that time they must: maintain their qualifying position within the industry; earn points by fulfilling various activity requirements based on the level of involvement and time spent doing the activity. The categories for which points are awarded include:

      • Professional Experience
      • Professional Development Activities/Seminars
      • Industry Related Involvement
      • Educational Services

      Additional ways of earning recertification points.

      • Completion of any American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (EI) Distance Learning course provides 5 points toward the recertification point total. Courses may be taken online or through traditional, paper-based distance learning. View course offerings or enroll online.
      • Earn points for attending any tradeshow, conference or convention sponsored by the American Hotel & lodging Educational Institute. View qualifying events.
      • Free Courses Count toward Recertification
        Schneider Electric's Energy University™ offers many free courses that count as education points toward recertification for the following designations:
        • Certified Hotel Administrator (CHA)
        • Certified Hospitality Facilities Executive (CHFE)

        Visit the MyEnergy University website to enroll today.    

      Recertification Applications:

      Certified Hotel Administrator (CHA) - (Application) (Maintenance Points)
      Certified Rooms Division Executive (CRDE) - (Application) (Maintenance Points)
      Certified Food & Beverage Excecutive (CFBE) - (Application) (Maintenance Points)
      Certified Hospitality Housekeeping Executive (CHHE) - (Application) (Maintenance Points)
      Certified Human Resources Executive (CHRE) - (Application/Maintenance Points)
      Certified Hospitality Facilities Executive (CHFE) - (Application) (Maintenance Points)
      Certified Hospitality Trainer (CHT) - (Application) (Maintenance Points)
      Certified Hospitality Revenue Manager (CHRM) - (Application) (Maintenance Points)
      Certified Hospitality Sales Professional (CHSP) - (Application) (Maintenance Points)
      Certified Lodging Security Director (CLSD) - (Application) (Maintenance Points)
      Certified Hospitality Educator (CHE) - (Application/Maintenance Points)
      Certified Master Hotel Supplier (CMHS) - (Application/Maintenance Points)  

      A candidate may elect to sit for the examination to earn their recertification in lieu of the points system. The candidate must achieve a minimum score of 75% on the CHA and CLSD exams, and 70% on all other exams in order to recertify.

      Recertification fees* are $200 each for Executive Level and Department Head Level; $100 each for CHRM and CHSP. Candidates who recertify are required to remit payment, complete a maintenance activity form, submit all supporting documentation, and sign the maintenance agreement - agreeing to all terms.
      *Prices are subject to change without notice.

      Please submit your recertification packet to:
      American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute
      800 North Magnolia Avenue, Suite 300
      Orlando, Florida 32803

      For additional informational, please contact the Professional Certification Department:
      email: certification@ahla.com | Phone: 1-407-999-8100 or 1-888-575-8726 | Fax: 1-407-236-7848 or 1-407-999-8610